Travel Passport

为什么在马尔代夫驾驶时携带国内流离失所者?

您的 IDP 是在全球 150 多个国家/地区的有效识别形式,它含有您的 姓名、照片及驾驶者资料,都已经翻译成 12 种全球最广泛使用的语言——好让您所访问的国家/地区的大部分官员及地方当局都能够明白。

它会将您的身份识别信息翻译成 12 种语言,即使您不会使用该语言,但 IDP 在马尔代夫是无效的。

开始我的申请
Police checking drivers International Drivers Permit

如何获得您的 IDP

我们透过创建一个平台来简化整个申请程序, 这平台会指引您确切了解成功完成申请的一切所需。

IDA Application

1. 网上申请

点击这里开始申请国际驾照。

Upload Photo

2. 上传照片

确保上传的是拥有正确参数的近照。

Guaranteed satisfaction

3.已 获得批准

等待您的确认,之后您便可准备出发了!

开始我的申请
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5-start rating Trustpilot

快速、简单、专业

迈克·韦塞尔斯, 美国

Verified Icon已验证的客户

当我得知我需要在短时间内出示国际驾驶证时,我不确定有多麻烦,甚至是否有可能。因此,我访问了国际驾驶员协会网站,整个过程非常容易遵循。我很高兴在15分钟内收到我的驾照! 我强烈推荐这项服务。

受到来自数千名客户的信任

  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会

马尔代夫的热门目的地

马尔代夫以其迷人的印度洋景色和壮观的波光粼粼的海滩而闻名。马尔代夫被称为一个拥有丰富自然奇观的国家,吸引并吸引了全世界旅行者的注意力。该国被认为是最佳旅行和蜜月目的地之一,非常适合家庭和亲密度假。所以来吧,参观,发现马尔代夫的美丽。

胡鲁马累岛

胡鲁马累是伟大的马尔代夫国家跻身全球顶级目的地和访问量最大的旅游景点的主要原因之一。胡鲁马累岛交通便利,有各种不同的预算友好型假期,您仍然可以在马尔代夫感受豪华假期。

如果您是想在阳光下放松和闲逛的旅行者,胡鲁马累(Hulhumale)是您的最佳目的地。胡鲁马累(Hulhumale)是马尔代夫的得天独厚的目的地,那里拥有无数自然奇观和美丽的海滩,可探索和发现每一个旅行爱好者都为之兴奋。

什么时候是最好的时间?

旅行和探索胡鲁马累美景的理想时间是 7 月至 10 月,即夏季和中秋月份,那里的天气非常适合在胡鲁马累游泳、远足和其他户外活动。

最糟糕的时间是什么时候?

不建议从 9 月到 11 月访问胡鲁马累,因为中到大雨,户外活动无法进行。然而,由于这几个月胡鲁马累的旅游业也很缓慢,这段时间的酒店价格非常实惠且经济实惠。

在胡鲁马累可以做什么?

当您参观马尔代夫美丽的岛屿之一胡鲁马累时,有很多事情要做。由于岛上保留了丰富的自然奇观,这里也有大量的活动和冒险经历。看看您在胡鲁马累逗留期间可以进行的一些活动:

是什么让胡鲁马累出名?

胡鲁马累以其广阔的蓝色大海和原始海岸线的如画景色而闻名。它以美丽的建筑和文化的故乡而闻名,岛上有美味的餐饮场所和良好的度假天气。由于有许多水上运动可供尝试,因此对于希望畅游并尝试不同独特水上活动和冒险的旅行者来说,它也很出名。

你能开车去胡鲁马累吗?

是的,您可以开车绕过胡鲁马累,但从马累机场直接开车到达岛上可能需要一些时间。如果他们允许承租人将汽车带到另一个岛屿,您还需要与您的汽车租赁公司联系。或者,您可以乘坐渡轮到达岛上,然后在抵达时租车。为了在胡鲁马累合法驾驶,您需要随身携带国内驾照和国际驾照。

还没有国际驾照的游客可以通过国际司机协会申请。国际司机协会确保为想要申请国际驾照的游客提供快速简便的批准程序。这个过程很简单;您只需要提交马尔代夫国际驾照要求。如果您想获得马尔代夫国际驾照更新,您也可以依靠 IDA。

一旦您的国际驾照申请获得批准,您将看到有关您的 IDP 的信息,例如您的姓名、马尔代夫国际驾照邮政编码、马尔代夫国际驾照地址、马尔代夫国际驾照联系电话以及其他驾驶者信息。

历史意义

Hulhumale 是一个岛屿,从位于 Hulhule 的泻湖土地上生长出来。它成为马尔代夫的中央国际枢纽,其土地的开发是为了扩大马尔代夫的首都马累,马累位于岛屿名称的来源泻湖。

Hulhumale 岛是马尔代夫群岛努力重新构想其重点,以暗示一个有弹性、经济和环境的国家的高潮。胡鲁马累是马尔代夫的顶级目的地之一,对国家的历史和旅游业做出了重大贡献。

  • 在海滩上闲逛和享受日光浴
  • 加入潜艇之旅
  • 尝试不同的极限水上运动
  • 参加日落巡游
  • 在美丽的海岸周围风景优美的驾驶
  • 加入胡鲁马累的文化之旅
  • 欣赏胡鲁马累(Hulhumale)的热闹文化
  • 参观胡鲁马累的造船厂
  • 尝试与海豚和海龟浮潜和潜水

如果您正在寻找一个提供豪华度假住宿的岛屿,既不与当地人隔绝,又远离当地人,甘岛是您的最佳选择。在这里,您可以尝试享受奢华假期,同时体验迷人的马尔代夫当地文化。

甘岛之所以能吸引游客,是因为该岛曾是二战时期的旧军事基地。除了美丽的海滩之外,甘岛的历史和历史景点也是游客想要参观和在岛上度假的原因。

什么时候是最好的时间?

由于其温度和湿度,参观甘岛的理想时间是 1 月至 4 月和 7 月至 8 月。在完美的天气下,您可以在上述月份访问该岛时进行许多活动,并最大限度地利用您在岛上的假期。

最糟糕的时间是什么时候?

不建议在 9 月至 11 月期间访问该岛,因为这几个月岛上会下大雨。下雨会阻碍您在访问甘岛时可以尝试的所有户外活动,但这几个月的住宿费用会更便宜。

您可以在Gan做什么?

甘岛比二战期间的前空军基地和军事基地更多。甘充满了美丽的旅游景点和迷人的传统,历史旅行者在访问马尔代夫时渴望看到这些传统。话虽如此,以下是您可以在冒险之旅中进行的一些活动:

是什么让甘出名?

甘以二战期间英国皇家空军的空军基地而闻名。它也是壮观的水下、室内和室外活动的举办地,让每个旅行者在岛上度过一个值得难忘的假期。

可以开车去甘吗?

是的,可以在甘附近开车。但是,由于您需要乘飞机,因此无法开车上岛。赣州也有租车的,可以提前预定,也可以当场租。在甘附近开车时,您需要确保始终携带有效的当地驾驶执照和马尔代夫的国际驾照,以便您可以在岛上开车。

如果您的国际驾照已过期,您可以申请马尔代夫国际驾照更新和延期或续签。国际驾照是旅行时必不可少的文件,特别是如果您想在国外开车。您今天可以通过国际驾驶员协会在马尔代夫申请国际驾照。

您无需前往马尔代夫国际驾照所在地即可获得有效的马尔代夫驾照。您可以在线申请国际驾照。只需提交马尔代夫国际驾照要求并填写国际驾驶员协会网站上的申请表。之后,您可以立即获得数字国际驾驶执照。

历史意义

Gan 最初是作为一个军事空军基地,而不是一个旅游景点,于 18941 年为皇家海军建立的,跑道开始于此。由于 1942 年的第二次世界大战,甘岛为马尔代夫的繁荣和人气赋予了重大的历史和旅游意义。

  • 闲逛在沙滩上
  • 甘岛路之旅
  • 观赏海豚
  • 在清澈的海水中游泳
  • 参观宗教景点
  • 看看Koattey Magu
  • 租一辆自行车在海岸上行走
  • 参加不同的乘船游览
  • 尝试水肺潜水和浮潜体验

男性

马累是马尔代夫的首府,对于那些想要在被高耸的宜人基础设施包围的繁忙街道上体验和驾驶的人来说,它是理想的目的地。由于街道拥挤或狭窄,这座城市很少有人参观,但这座城市充满了您不容错过的历史和文化旅游景点!

什么时候是最好的时间?

旅行和探索马累美景的理想时间是 7 月至 10 月,这是马尔代夫的夏季和中秋季节。这几个月的天气与胡鲁马累相似,那里的天气非常适合游泳、晒日光浴、在沙滩上漫步和其他户外活动。

最糟糕的时间是什么时候?

由于马累和胡鲁马累的天气非常相似,不建议在 9 月至 11 月或秋季访问这座城市。这是因为这几个月经历了中到大雨,因此不建议旅行或进行户外活动。

你可以在马累做什么?

当您访问马累时,您可以在直接前往马尔代夫的海滩之前进行许多令人难忘的活动。以下是您在热闹、繁忙、美丽的马累市可以做的事情:

是什么让马累出名?

该市还以其人造海滩而闻名。它以马尔代夫的首都而闻名,历史遗迹、迷人的基础设施和美丽的风俗吸引着每一位游客。

你可以开车去马累吗?

是的,您可以在马累开车,但不能直接从机场开车。您需要乘坐渡轮才能到达城市。但是,您可以浏览马累的知名网站。虽然您不需要马尔代夫当地的驾照,但最好有国际驾照,这样可以方便您的驾驶体验。您可以通过填写申请表并提交所需文件,通过国际驾驶员协会在线申请您的国际驾照。

您可以随时申请国际驾驶执照。您可以在线联系国际司机协会。您可以放心,客户服务团队确保为全球游客提供优质服务。等待您的 IDP 的处理时间可能快到 20 分钟。您可以通过您的电子邮件地址接收您的 IDP,或者您可以将打印的副本邮寄到您家。

虽然在该国驾驶时不需要当地的马尔代夫驾驶执照,但您必须确保您的驾驶执照有效且未过期。您可以在旅行前更新您的 IDP。此外,您的驾驶信息将包含在您的驾驶许可证中,例如您的马尔代夫国际驾照邮政编码和马尔代夫国际驾照联系电话。每一个细节都是必不可少的,尤其是在交通当局在您开车时拦住您的情况下。

历史意义

从 12 世纪之前开始,马累就为马尔代夫的王朝做出了贡献。 17 世纪出现在该市的贸易公司加起来促进了马累的经济增长。在 1920 年代,游客开始涌入这座城市,当时岛上大部分地区都被树木覆盖。

随着 1930 年代的现代化,马累的经济继续繁荣。 1970年代,马累的财富主要来自旅游业和城市持续发展的不断扩张。直到今天,这座城市的旅游业为马尔代夫的财富做出了重大贡献。

永远记住,在马尔代夫的主要驾驶目的地进行驾驶冒险时,您仍然需要拥有当地有效的国家驾驶执照和 IDP。在国际司机协会的帮助下,您现在可以在线获得马尔代夫的国际驾照。

  • 马累旅行
  • 参观星期五的老清真寺
  • 在皇家花园咖啡厅闲逛
  • 看看马累的人工海滩
  • 在马累市场购物
  • 在城市骑自行车
  • 参加马累的潜水艇之旅
  • 参加马累文化之旅
  • 尝试不同的水上运动

马尔代夫最重要的驾驶规则

开车前往马尔代夫的主要目的地是一个令人兴奋的绝妙主意。尽管如此,在严格遵循马尔代夫政府指示的驾驶规则和规程之前,您需要确保前往马尔代夫的旅行无忧,方便且安全。

马尔代夫实施的驾驶规则通常与其他国家相同。尽管如此,您仍不能免于这些强制性法律的约束。以下是马尔代夫交通当局实施的一些驾驶规则和马尔代夫国际驾驶许可证规定,您需要遵守这些规则,以确保您在马尔代夫开车时的安全和乘客的安全。

随时携带驾驶执照和IDP

每一位计划在马尔代夫开车的外国游客都应该随身携带当地的驾照和 IDP。这些是汽车租赁公司和马尔代夫交通当局要求外国司机提供的文件。因此,如果您选择在该国进行公路旅行,请确保在旅行前准备好这些文件。虽然您不需要马尔代夫国内驾照,但您需要随身携带 IDP。

仅凭您的国家驾照在马尔代夫租车和驾驶是无效的,因为这是马尔代夫的必需文件。每次开车时,请使用带有 IDP 的驾照。您在马尔代夫的国际驾照将是您当地的驾照翻译件。您可以在国际司机协会在线申请马尔代夫的国际驾照。

无需前往马尔代夫国际驾照办公室获取 IDP 或查找您附近的马尔代夫国际驾照分部。您需要做的就是遵守马尔代夫国际驾照所需的文件。

酒后驾车是违法的

禁止在公共场所酒后驾车和饮酒,这是违法的,也是马尔代夫风俗的一项违法行为。当您避免在酒精的影响下开车以保证所有人,当地人和游客逃避违反马尔代夫交通法规时,这是有益而安全的。

避免在冬季或雨季驾驶

马尔代夫的冬天是11月至4月的雨季,最好避免在大雨中开车,因为这可能会导致事故的危险。毕竟,道路很滑,由于大雨,可能会出现能见度为零的情况。

行驶低于速度限制

马尔代夫的一般限速为每小时 25 公里(每小时 15 英里)。这可能会发生变化,具体取决于您驾驶的地点。最好注意并留意限速标志,以免违反交通法规并发生事故。

开车时系好安全带

佩戴安全带没有写在马尔代夫的规则上,但始终系好安全带是常识和礼貌。如果您带着孩子在马尔代夫开车,建议使用儿童座椅约束装置。大多数汽车租赁公司都提供添加汽车配件并收取额外费用。

在左侧行驶

在马尔代夫,道路的左侧是您的行驶路线。如果您来自行驶在道路右侧的国家/地区,这将使您感到困惑和陌生。不用担心,您可以在汽车租赁公司停车场的左侧练习几分钟或一个小时,直到准备就绪,然后习惯在道路左侧行驶。

在周围环境中谨慎驾驶,并始终注视着道路。一旦您触犯了法律,可能会发生一些事故,使您陷入极大的危险和麻烦,更糟糕的是,在马尔代夫的左侧行驶时发生事故。

$49 便可获得国际驾驶许可证

+ 国际替换

International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App
开始我的申请
  • Yes Checkmark
    100% 退款保证
  • Yes Checkmark
    国际快递
  • Yes Checkmark
    2 小时或更短时间内交付数字版本
International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App

Travel Passport

Why carry an IDP while driving in Maldives?

Your IDP is a valid form of identification in more than 150 countries worldwide and contains your name, photo and driver information in the 12 most widely spoken languages in the world – it is understandable to most of the local officials and authorities of the countries you visit.

It translates your identification information into 12 languages — so it speaks the language even if you don’t. However, IDP is invalid in Maldives.

Start my Application
Police checking drivers International Drivers Permit

How to get your IDP

We’ve streamlined the application process down by creating a platform that guides you so you know exactly what you’ll need to successfully complete your application

IDA Application

1. Apply Online

Start your application for International Driver's License Get the IDP.​​

Upload Photo

2. Upload Photos

Make sure to upload an updated photo and with the correct parameters.​

Guaranteed satisfaction

3. Get approved

Wait for your confirmation and you are ready to go!​

Start my Application
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5-start rating Trustpilot

Above and beyond service

Steve Jaenisch

Verified IconVerified Customer

At first I was disappointed in my order. Little did I realize the problem was caused by my own error. The Customer Service rep, who first addressed my issue, did not seem to address the issues. However, in a further exchange of emails, it was discovered where the problem was, in an error I made. Throughout the entire issue the customer service folks were courteous and helpful. The issue was finally resolved and the customer service people bent over backward to make sure I was satisfied. I am very pleased with the service I received

Trusted by thousands of clients from

  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association

Top Destinations in the Maldives

The Maldives is known for its fascinating views of the Indian Ocean with spectacular glistening beaches. Known as a country abundant with natural wonders, Maldives catches and allures the attention of travelers worldwide. The country is considered one of the best travel and honeymoon destinations, making it perfect for family and intimate getaways. So come, visit, and discover Maldives' beauty.

Hulhumale Island

Hulhumale is one of the main reasons the great nation of Maldives ranks as among the top destinations and most visited tourist spots globally. The island of Hulhumale is accessible and has different brackets of a budget-friendly vacation, where you can still feel a luxurious holiday in the Maldives.

If you're a traveler who wants to relax and idle under the sun, Hulhumale is the best destination for you. Hulhumale is a blessed destination in the Maldives, where it has immense natural wonders and beautiful beaches to explore and discover that every travel enthusiast is thrilled to see.

When is the best time to go?

The ideal time to travel and explore the beauty of Hulhumale is from July to October, the months of summer and mid-fall, wherein the weather is perfect for swimming, excursion, and other outdoor activities in Hulhumale.

When is the worst time to go?

It's not advisable to visit Hulhumale from September to November, due to moderate to heavy rains where the outdoor activities are impossible to do. However, since tourism in Hulhumale is also slow these months, the hotel rates during this time are very affordable and budget-friendly.

What can you do in Hulhumale?

There are so many things to do as you visit one of the Maldives' wonderful islands, Hulhumale. Because of the abundant natural wonders the island keeps, there are also tons of activities and adventures to experience here. Take a look at some of the activities you can do in your stay in Hulhumale:

What makes Hulhumale famous?

Hulhumale is famous for having a picturesque view of its vast blue sea and its pristine coastline. It is known for being the home of beautiful architecture and culture, and the island has a delicious dining scene and good vacation weather. Since there are numerous water sports to try, it is also famous to travelers who wish to take a dip and try different unique water activities and adventures.

Can you drive to Hulhumale?

Yes, you can drive around Hulhumale, but driving directly from Male's airport to reach the island may take some time. You also need to talk to your car rental company if they allow a renter to bring their car to another island. Or, you can ride a ferry to reach the island, then rent a car upon arrival. In order to drive legally in Hulhumale, you need to take your domestic driver's license and your International Driving Permit with you at all times.

Tourists who don't have their International Driving Permits yet can apply for theirs through the International Drivers Association. The International Drivers Association ensures fast and easy approval processes for tourists who want to apply for their International Driving Permits. The process is straightforward; you only need to submit the International Driver's License Maldives requirements. You can also rely on the IDA if you want to get an International Driver's Permit Maldives update.

Once your International Driving Permit application is approved, you will see information on your IDP, like your name, International Driver's Permit Maldives zip code, International Driver's Permit Maldives address, International Driver's License Maldives contact number, and other motorist information.

Historical Significance

Hulhumale is an island that grew from the lagoon's land situated in Hulhule. It became Maldives' central International hub and its land was developed to expand Maldives' capital city, Male, which is located at the lagoon where the island name was derived.

The island of Hulhumale is the culmination of the Maldives' archipelago efforts to reimagine its focus towards implying a resilient, economic, and environmental nation. Hulhumale is one of Maldives’ top destinations that significantly contributed to the nation's history and tourism.

  • Idle and sunbathe at the beach
  • Join a submarine trip
  • Try different extreme water sports
  • Join the sunset cruise
  • Scenic driving around the beautiful coast
  • Join Hulhumale's cultural tours
  • see Hulhumale's lively culture
  • Visit the boat-building yard in Hulhumale
  • Try snorkeling and diving with the dolphins and turtles

Gan

If you're looking for an island that offers a luxurious resort stay that is not isolated and far from the locals, Gan is the best spot for you. Here, you can try and enjoy a luxury vacation while experiencing the fascinating local culture of the Maldives at the same time.

The tourism Gan island gets is due to the islands' history of being an old Word War II military base. Gan's history and historical spots add up to the reasons why tourists want to visit and spend their holiday on the island aside from its beautiful beaches.

When is the best time to go?

The ideal time to visit Gan island is between January to April and July to August because of its temperature and humidity. With the perfect weather, you can do many activities as you visit the island in the mentioned months and maximize the days of your holiday on the island.

When is the worst time to go?

It's not advisable to visit the island from September to November because of the heavy rains on the islands during these months. The rain will hinder all the outdoor activities you can try as you visit Gan island, but the accommodation cost is cheaper around these months.

What Can You Do in Gan?

There's more to Gan islands than the former airbase and military base during World War II. Gan is filled with beautiful tourist spots and fascinating traditions that history travelers are eager to see as they visit the Maldives. With that said, here are some of the activities you can do on your adventure trip:

What makes Gan famous?

Gan is famous for being an airbase of the British Royal Air Force during World War II. It is also home to spectacular underwater, indoor, and outdoor activities that make every traveler's holiday and stay on the island worthwhile and unforgettable.

Can you drive to Gan?

Yes, driving around Gan is possible. However, driving to the island is impossible since you need to take a flight. There are also rental cars in Gan where you can rent by booking in advance or renting on the spot. When driving around Gan, you need to make sure that you always bring your valid local driving license and your International Driving Permit in Maldives so you'll be allowed to drive on the island.

If you have an expired International Driving Permit, you can ask for an International Driving License Maldives update and extension or renewal. The International Driving Permit is an essential document when traveling, especially if you want to drive abroad. You can apply for an International Driving Permit in Maldives today through the International Driver's Association.

You don't need to go to an International Driver's Permit Maldives location to get a valid Maldives driving permit. You can apply for your International Driving Licence online. Simply submit the International Driving Licence Maldives requirements and fill out the application form found in the International Drivers Association's website. After that, you can get your digital International Driving Licence in no time.

Historical Significance

Gan was initially established as a military airbase, not as a tourism spot, for the Royal Navy in 18941, where runways started. Because of World War II in 1942, Gan Island gave a substantial historic and tourism significance to the Maldives' prosperity and popularity.

  • Idle and stroll at the beach
  • Gan Island Road trip
  • Dolphin watching
  • Swim in the clear ocean water
  • Visit religious sights
  • Check out the Koattey Magu
  • Rent a bicycle to walk on the coast
  • Join different boat tours
  • Try the Scuba diving and snorkeling experience

Male

Male is the capital city of the Maldives, and it's the perfect destination for those who want to experience and drive in the busy streets that are surrounded by towering pleasant infrastructures. The city is rarely visited due to its crammed or narrow streets, but the city is filled with historical and cultural tourist spots that you don't want to miss!

When is the best time to go?

The ideal time to travel and explore Male's beauty is from July to October, which is the summer and mid-fall season in the Maldives. These months, the weather is similar to Hulhumale, wherein the weather is perfect for swimming, sunbathing, strolling on the beach, and other outdoor activities.

When is the worst time to go?

As the weather in Male and Hulhumale is pretty similar, it isn't recommended to visit the city from September to November or during the fall. This is because of the moderate to heavy rains experienced during these months, so it is not advisable to travel or have outdoor activity.

What can you do in Male?

As you visit Male, you can do many memorable activities before heading straight to the beaches in Maldives. Here are the things you can do in the lively, busy, beautiful City of Male:

What makes Male famous?

The city is also famous for its artificial beach. It is well known for being Maldives' capital city, with historical sites, fascinating infrastructures, and beautiful customs alluring to every traveler's eyes.

Can you drive to Male?

Yes, you can drive around Male but not directly from the airport. You need to ride a ferry to reach the City. However, you can navigate around Male's well-known sites. Though you don't need a local Maldives driver's license, it would be best if you have an International Driving Licence to make your driving experience convenient. You can apply for your International Driving Licence online through the International Drivers Association by filling out the application form and submitting the required documents.

You can apply for an International Driving Licence any time you want. You can reach the International Drivers Association online. You can rest assured that the customer service team ensures quality service to tourists worldwide. Waiting for your IDP's processing time can be as fast as 20 minutes. You can receive your IDP through your email address, or you can have a printed copy shipped to your home.

Though a local Maldives driver's license is not required when driving in the country, you have to make sure that your driving permit is valid and not expired. You can have your IDP renewed before your trip. Also, your motorist information will be included in your driving permits, such as your International Driver's License Maldives zip code, and International Driver's License Maldives contact number. Every detail is essential, especially if in case a transport authority stops you while driving.

Historical Significance

Since before the 12th century, Male has contributed to the Maldives' dynasties. The trading houses that appeared in the city by the 17th century, added up to Male's growing economy. In the 1920s, visitors started to flock the City, when the island was mostly covered with trees.

Male's economy continued to prosper with the modernization that occurred in the 1930s. In the 1970s, Male's wealth mainly came from tourism and the continuous expansion of the city's ongoing development. Until this day, the city's tourism gives a significant contribution to the Maldives' wealth.

Always remember that in your driving adventure in the Maldives' top driving destinations, you still need to have your local valid national driver's license along with your IDP. With the International Drivers Association's help, you now get an International Driver's License in the Maldives online.

  • Male Road trip
  • Visit the old Friday mosque
  • Idle at the Royal Garden Café
  • Check out the Artificial Beach in Male
  • Shop at Male's Market's
  • Biking around the City
  • Take a submarine tour in Male
  • Join Male's Cultural Tour
  • Try different water sports

Most Important Rules of Driving in the Maldives

Driving to the Maldives’ top destinations is an exciting and excellent idea. Still, before you get the wheels of your rental car rolling, you need to make sure that your visit to the Maldives should be hassle-free, convenient, and safe by meticulously following the driving rules and regulations directed by the Maldivian government.

The imposed driving rules in the Maldives are often the same with the other countries. Nevertheless, you are not exempted from these mandated laws. Here are some of the driving rules implemented by the transport authority in Maldives and International Driving Permit in Maldives regulations that you need to follow to ensure your safety and your passengers' safety as you drive in the Maldives.

Carry your driver’s license and International Driver's Permit at all times

Every foreign traveler who plans to drive in the Maldives should always bring their local driver's license and IDP with them all times. These are the required documents by car rental companies and Maldivian transport authority from foreign drivers. So, if you're opting for a road trip in the country, make sure to have these documents ready before traveling. Though you don't need a domestic Maldives driver's license, you need to have an IDP with you.

Your national driver's license alone will not be valid for renting a car and driving in the Maldives as this is a required document in the Maldives. Use your driver's license with an IDP every time you drive. Your International Driving Permit in the Maldives will be your local driver's license translation. You can apply for an International Driver's License in the Maldives online at the International Drivers Association.

There's no need to go to the International Driver's Permit Maldives office to get an IDP or find an International Driver's Permit Maldives branch near you. All you need to do is comply with the required documents for an International Driver's License Maldives.

Drunk driving is against the law

Drunk driving and drinking in public are prohibited, against the law, and an offense on the Maldivian's custom. It is helpful and safe when you avoid driving under the influence of alcohol to guarantee everyone, locals and tourists, to elude breaking the Maldivian traffic law.

Avoid driving in the winter or rainy seasons

Maldives’ winter is the rainy season from the months November to April, and it is best to avoid driving in heavy rains because it is hazardous that you might get into an accident. After all, the roads are slippery, and there may be a chance of zero visibility due to the heavy rains.

Drive below the speed limit

The general speed limit in the Maldives is 25 kilometers per hour (15 miles per hour). This may change, depending on where you're driving. It's best to be mindful and keep an eye on the speed limit signage to avoid breaking a traffic law and get into an accident.

Wear a seatbelt when driving

Wearing a seatbelt is not written on the Maldives rules, but it is a piece of common knowledge and courtesy to always to wear a seatbelt. If you're driving in the Maldives with a child, using a child seat restraint is advisable. Most car rental companies offer to add car accessories and charge an extra fee.

Drive on the left

In the Maldives, the left side of the road is your driving side. If you're from the countries that drive on the right side of the road, it will be confusing and new to you. Do not worry, and you can get used to driving on the left side of the road by practicing driving on the left in your car rental company's parking lot for a few minutes or an hour until you're ready.

Drive with great caution in your surroundings and always keep your eyes on the road. There might be incidents that will put you into great danger and trouble once you break the law, and worst, get into an accident while driving on the left side of the Maldives roads.

Get an International Driver's Permit for $69

+ International Replacement

International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App
Start my Application
  • Yes Checkmark
    100% money back guarantee
  • Yes Checkmark
    Fast International Shipping
  • Yes Checkmark
    Digital Version Delivered in 2 Hours or Less
International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App