Travel Passport

为什么在汤加开车时携带 IDP?

您的 IDP 是在全球 150 多个国家/地区的有效识别形式,它含有您的 姓名、照片及驾驶者资料,都已经翻译成 12 种全球最广泛使用的语言——好让您所访问的国家/地区的大部分官员及地方当局都能够明白。

它会将您的身份信息翻译成 12 种语言——因此即使您不会,它也会说这种语言。汤加强烈推荐国际驾照。

开始我的申请
Police checking drivers International Drivers Permit

如何获得您的 IDP

我们透过创建一个平台来简化整个申请程序, 这平台会指引您确切了解成功完成申请的一切所需。

IDA Application

1. 网上申请

点击这里开始申请国际驾照。

Upload Photo

2. 上传照片

确保上传的是拥有正确参数的近照。

Guaranteed satisfaction

3.已 获得批准

等待您的确认,之后您便可准备出发了!

开始我的申请
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5-start rating Trustpilot

快速、简单、专业

迈克·韦塞尔斯, 美国

Verified Icon已验证的客户

当我得知我需要在短时间内出示国际驾驶证时,我不确定有多麻烦,甚至是否有可能。因此,我访问了国际驾驶员协会网站,整个过程非常容易遵循。我很高兴在15分钟内收到我的驾照! 我强烈推荐这项服务。

受到来自数千名客户的信任

  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会
  • 国际司机协会

汤加的热门目的地

汤加王国拥有许多热情好客的当地人、国家公园、地道的村庄和丰富的海洋生物多样性。它是一个群岛,拥有 170 多个岛屿,分为三个主要岛屿群。由于人口明显减少的岛屿,寻求孤独的游客在该国找到了他们的绿洲。在您探索汤加的过程中,通过原始海滩、野生动物邂逅、历史遗迹等来满足您对大自然的渴望。

Mapu'a 'A Vaea 喷水孔

它是汤加王国最著名的旅游景点之一。著名的 Mapu'a' A Vaea Blowholes 横跨汤加塔普南部海岸,绵延 5 公里,靠近侯马村。到达该地区后,您会注意到数百个气孔在海岸数公里内延伸。当它向上撞击时,你可以听到它独特的呼啸声。如果幸运的话,您可以亲眼目睹水弹射入 30 米高的空中。

由于该地区人口并不稠密,即使您与其他游客一起游览,您仍然可以拥有您正在寻找的孤独。您可以在广阔的海滩上休息,欣赏日落的奇观。这个旅游目的地是您访问汤加时不容错过的景点之一。即使您是游客,也可以使用基本地图轻松找到该目的地。最好在六月到十月期间参观。

行车路线:

  • 从汤加机场有限公司出发,向东南方向行驶,前往 Taufa'ahau Rd
  • 右转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 行驶 1.5 公里后右转。
  • 右转进入 Loto Rd。
  • 3.3 公里后左转。
  • 220 米后左转。
  • 140 米后向右转弯。
  • 140米后左转,18分钟即可到达Mapu'a' A Blowholes。

预订您的日程安排并在汤加获得国际驾照。在我们的网站上获取您的汤加国际驾照,因为您在前往该目的地时需要它。只需点击“开始我的申请”,即可更新您的汤加国际驾照。提供您的姓名、地址、城市/州、国家和邮政编码,以从汤加获得您的国际驾照。请注意,您在汤加的国际驾照有很多好处。您还需要携带有效的驾驶执照和 IDP。

哈阿塔夫海滩

该国著名的海滩之一是位于汤加塔普的 Ha' Atafu 海滩。它是汤加最好的冲浪地点的所在地,提供安全的全潮冲浪,因此即使您是初学者也可以享受它。有几个海滨住宿和餐厅。未受破坏的 Ha'Atafu 海滩是汤加每位游客都应该参观的天堂。它有一个广阔的地方,您可以在那里休息并享用传统的汤加美食。

您可以与不同的热带鱼一起游泳,欣赏周围五颜六色的珊瑚。在 7 月和 10 月之间,您可以在海滩上看到令人着迷的巨大座头鲸。这是您访问汤加时不容错过的千载难逢的体验。如果您想体验平静的水域和温和的气候,请在 5 月至 10 月期间参观。

行车路线:

  • 从汤加机场有限公司出发,向东南方向行驶,前往 Taufa'ahau Rd
  • 右转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 行驶 1.5 公里后右转。
  • 向右转向 Loto Rd。
  • 行驶 2.4 公里后右转。
  • 左转上 Hihifo Rd。
  • 400 米后左转。
  • 100米后左转,约33分钟后即可到达哈塔夫海滩。

在线获取汤加国际驾照是一个简单的过程。您可以立即在我们的网站上获得汤加的国际驾照。申请成功后,请提供我们处理您的汤加国际驾照的所有要求。现在,您可以凭国际驾照在汤加的任何地区无忧驾驶。预订您的日程安排并在汤加获得国际驾照。

'阿纳胡鲁洞穴

如果您想探索一个黑暗的世界和略显诡异的地方,您可以参观“Anahulu Cave”。它是该国最受欢迎的洞穴。当地人和游客都喜欢“Anahulu Cave”。当您照亮洞穴迷人的天然石灰岩和钟乳石洞穴时,对不确定性的恐惧会变成敬畏。建议您在参观该地方时,与当地导游一起来或参加水肺潜水之旅,以便您可以充分探索它。

洞内美丽的地下淡水池吸引着游客再次回到“阿纳胡鲁洞”。深入洞穴的漆黑虚空,确实是一种独特的体验。您可以预订或加入水肺潜水队。冒险前往洞穴的更深处,发现前方有什么。如果您只是想在地下游泳池中浮潜,您也可以带上面罩和脚蹼。

行车路线:

  • 从 Aeroport International Fua'amotu 出发,向东南方向行驶
  • 继续直行 1 公里。
  • 行驶 1.9 公里后左转。
  • 右转进入 Tuku'Aho Rd。
  • 向左急转进入 Liku Rd,您可以在 14 分钟内到达 Anahulu Cave。

您在汤加的国际驾照有效期最长为三年。在我们的网站上,您可以查看在汤加获得国际驾照的要求。我们让您可以轻松地在线获得汤加的国际驾照。处理 20 分钟后,支付规定费用并在汤加获得国际驾照。我们还可以在任何区域为您提供汤加的国际驾照。提供您的姓名、地址、城市/州、国家、邮政编码和联系电话,以获得汤加的国际驾照。

Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon

汤加有自己的南太平洋版巨石阵。 Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon 或 Maui's Burden 坐落在 Niutoua 附近。当您到达该地点时,您会注意到三块重达 40 吨的巨大珊瑚石。它类似于trilithon门。一些考古学家和民间传说说它是为图伊汤加建造的,而另一些人则说它是中国古代旅行者建造的。建议您提前预订并参加导游。

行车路线:

  • 从 Aeroport International Fua'amotu 出发,向东南方向行驶
  • 继续直行 1 公里。
  • 5.3 公里后左转。
  • 向右拐进 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 7.2 公里后稍微右转。
  • 右转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd,27 分钟后即可到达 Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon。

我们还可以在您所在的任何区域运送您的汤加国际驾照。向我们提供您的姓名、地址、城市、州、邮政编码,以获得您的汤加国际驾照。您可以在汤加获得国际驾照的好处。您在汤加的国际驾照不会作为过期驾照的延期。您在汤加的国际驾照的有效期与您的驾照不同。立即获取您的国际驾照,在汤加轻松驾驶任何地区。

穆阿

在穆阿地区,您可以发现大量的考古遗迹,这些遗迹使汤加的历史变得特别。您当地的旅行指南将带您前往穆阿的 28 座富豪石墓。这些巨大的石头坟墓是用石灰石块制成的。您还可以在主要街道上找到 Tele'a 舞台。它类似于金字塔石纪念碑。最好在旱季或 3 月和 11 月期间访问穆阿。

行车路线:

  • 从 Aeroport International Fua'amotu 出发,向东南方向行驶
  • 继续直行 1 公里。
  • 5.3 公里后左转。
  • 右转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 290米后右转,14分钟即可到达木阿。

如果您忘记申请 IDP,IDA 团队可以帮助您轻松获得汤加的国际驾照。在线获取汤加国际驾照是一个简单的过程。您不必去最近的警察局或执照颁发机构。只需点击“开始我的申请”,即可更新您的汤加国际驾照。提供您的姓名、地址、城市/州、国家、邮政编码和联系电话,以便从汤加获得国际驾照。在处理后的几分钟内,支付费用并在汤加获得国际驾照。

汤加塔布

汤加塔普的中心是努库阿洛法 (Nuku'alofa),在其北岸可以俯瞰皇宫。前往热闹的塔拉马胡市场,寻找各种热带蔬菜和水果。您还可以发现当地的杰作和手工艺品,还可以带回家作为礼物和纪念品。无论您走到汤加塔普的何处,都有美丽的海滩,您可以在那里游泳或浮潜。当地人建议游客在 3 月至 11 月期间前往。

行车路线:

  • 从汤加机场有限公司出发,向东南方向行驶,前往 Taufa'ahau Rd
  • 右转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 1 公里后右转。
  • 500 米后左转。
  • 1.5公里后右转,11分钟即可到达Tongatapu。

最好带上您在网上获得的汤加国际驾照,这样您在遇到检查站时就不会遇到任何冲突。立即购买,在汤加拥有国际驾照,在任何地区驾驶都无后顾之忧。我们还可以将您的汤加国际驾照运送到任何地区。向我们提供您的姓名、地址、城市/州、国家、邮政编码和联系电话,以便从汤加获得您的国际驾照。请注意,汤加的国际驾照不是过期驾照的延期。

班盖摩图岛

你应该知道汤加的所有活动都在星期天停止,因为政府执行安息日法。由于该国保守的宗教信仰,周日企业关闭,当地人应该与家人一起礼拜、休息和盛宴。然而,在这一天仍有一些地方值得探索。 Pangaimotu 及其上的度假村是豁免的,因此您仍然可以在每个人都休息时体验冒险的滋味。

这座城市以其沉船和美丽的海滩而闻名。由于色彩缤纷且健康的珊瑚,海滩也是游泳和浮潜的好地方。即使在海滩的狭窄部分,也有蓬勃发展的海洋生物多样性。在旱季访问 Pangaimotu,以便您可以充分探索其海滩。

行车路线:

  • 从汤加机场有限公司出发,向东南方向行驶,前往 Taufa'ahau Rd
  • 左转进入 Taufa'ahau Rd。
  • 右转进入 Alaivahamama'o Bypass Rd
  • 左转并留在 Alaivahamama'o Bypass Rd
  • 在 Vuna Rd 右转,20 分钟后您将到达 Pangaimotu 岛。

如果没有您当地的驾驶执照,您不得在汤加开车,除非您获得汤加主要执照颁发机构颁发的汤加驾驶执照。但是,您需要参加驾驶考试并支付规定的费用。如果您不会说英语,您在网上获得的汤加国际驾照会有所帮助。如果您丢失 IDP,我们还会免费更换。致电我们以获取免费帮助,以在汤加获得您的国际驾照。提供您的姓名、地址、城市/州、国家、邮政编码和联系电话,以获得汤加的国际驾照。

汤加最重要的驾驶规则

一般来说,汤加是最安全的驾车国家之一,即使您是游客。该国的道路和道路网络维护良好。为了您的安全和周围人民的福祉,最好接受外国的驾驶规则和规定。确保您在汤加驾车时充分了解道路规则,以防止发生事故并与地方当局发生冲突。您需要记住的规则之一是您需要在道路的左侧行驶。对于不习惯在左侧驾驶的驾驶员来说,这可能非常具有挑战性。

始终持有您当地的驾照和 IDP

游客必须在抵达时从最近的警察局、汤加主要牌照局或陆路交通部门购买当地驾驶执照。有效期为三个月。但是,要获得它,您需要参加并通过驾驶考试。当您在公路旅行中时,可能会出现意想不到的情况。当地方当局在检查站要求时,在汤加持有国际驾照可以作为您的有效身份证明。

持有本国签发的有效驾照和汤加国际驾照的游客可以驾驶三个月。外国人需要获得汤加主要执照颁发机构或陆路交通司颁发的汤加驾驶执照。他们也可能要求申请人参加并通过驾驶考试以及规定的费用。在汤加附近开车时请务必携带有效的驾驶执照,因为您的 IDP 不是有效的替代品。

汤加禁止酒后驾车

根据努库阿洛法道路安全负责人的报告,2020 年的大部分道路交通事故都是由酒驾造成的。即使记录的道路事故数量有所下降,他们仍然坚持对不遵守道路规则的人采取零容忍和严厉执法,因为当年道路死亡人数有所增加。

汤加对当地和旅游司机的血液酒精含量限制为 0.08%。不要酒后驾车,因为如果您受到酒精的影响。不要让你的生命与路上的其他人一起处于危险之中。最好避免饮酒,不要冒险,因为酒后驾车只会带来麻烦。如果您被发现酒后驾车,您将被带到最近的警察局进行酒精测试并结清罚款。

遵守汤加的最高限速

与城市州相比,汤加的限速非常保守。步行区和学校周围道路的限速为 30 公里/小时。在主要道路上,限速为 50 公里/小时,而在农村地区,限速为 70 公里/小时。如果您遵守这些速度限制,您将不会遇到地方当局的任何问题,并且您将避免陷入任何不幸的道路事故。

您可以观察沿该国路边定期标出的限速标志,因此您没有理由不遵守它们。也观察到一些当地司机开车很慢,所以你必须要有耐心,只有安全超车。以低于限速行驶,尤其是如果您不习惯在道路左侧行驶时。

$49 便可获得国际驾驶许可证

+ 国际替换

International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App
开始我的申请
  • Yes Checkmark
    100% 退款保证
  • Yes Checkmark
    国际快递
  • Yes Checkmark
    2 小时或更短时间内交付数字版本
International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App

Travel Passport

Why carry an IDP while driving in Tonga?

Your IDP is a valid form of identification in more than 150 countries worldwide and contains your name, photo and driver information in the 12 most widely spoken languages in the world – it is understandable to most of the local officials and authorities of the countries you visit.

It translates your identification information into 12 languages — so it speaks the language even if you don’t. Tonga highly recommends an International Driving Permit.

Start my Application
Police checking drivers International Drivers Permit

How to get your IDP

We’ve streamlined the application process down by creating a platform that guides you so you know exactly what you’ll need to successfully complete your application

IDA Application

1. Apply Online

Start your application for International Driver's License Get the IDP.​​

Upload Photo

2. Upload Photos

Make sure to upload an updated photo and with the correct parameters.​

Guaranteed satisfaction

3. Get approved

Wait for your confirmation and you are ready to go!​

Start my Application
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5 star rating by Mile Wessels
5-start rating Trustpilot

Above and beyond service

Steve Jaenisch

Verified IconVerified Customer

At first I was disappointed in my order. Little did I realize the problem was caused by my own error. The Customer Service rep, who first addressed my issue, did not seem to address the issues. However, in a further exchange of emails, it was discovered where the problem was, in an error I made. Throughout the entire issue the customer service folks were courteous and helpful. The issue was finally resolved and the customer service people bent over backward to make sure I was satisfied. I am very pleased with the service I received

Trusted by thousands of clients from

  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association
  • International Drivers Association

Top Destinations in Tonga

The Kingdom of Tonga is home to many welcoming locals, national parks, authentic villages, and rich marine biodiversity. It is an archipelago with more than 170 islands divided into three main island groups. Due to the significantly less populated islands, tourists looking for solitude find their oasis in the country. Quench your thirst for nature with the pristine beaches, wildlife encounters, historical sites, and more as you explore Tonga.

Mapu'a 'A Vaea Blowholes

It is one of the most distinguished tourist attractions in the Kingdom of Tonga. Stretching five kilometers across the southern coast of Tongatapu are the famous Mapu'a' A Vaea Blowholes, which is located close to Houma's village. Once you reach the area, you will notice hundreds of blowholes stretch in several kilometers of the coast. You can hear its distinct whistling roar as it strikes upward. If you are fortunate, you can witness water catapulting 30 meters into the air.

Since the area is not densely populated, even if you are visiting with other tourists, you can still have the solitude you are looking for. You can enjoy watching the spectacle of the sunset as you lounge on the vast beach. This tourist destination is one of the things you should not miss when you visit Tonga. Even if you are a tourist, you can easily find this destination using a basic map. It would be best to visit from June to October.

Driving Directions:

  • From Tonga Airports Limited, head southeast toward Taufa'ahau Rd
  • Turn right onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Take a right turn after 1.5 kilometers.
  • Turn right onto Loto Rd.
  • Take a left turn after 3.3 kilometers.
  • Turn left after 220 meters.
  • Swerve to the right after 140 meters.
  • Turn left after 140 meters, and you can reach Mapu'a' A Blowholes within 18 minutes.

Book your schedule and get your international driver's license in Tonga. Get your international driver's license for Tonga on our website because you need it when traveling to this destination. Just click on "Start My Application" and be updated with your International Driver's Permit for Tonga. Give your name, address, city/state, country, and zip code to get your international driver's license from Tonga. Note that your international driver's license in Tonga has many benefits. You also need to bring your valid driving license along with your IDP.

Ha' Atafu Beach

One of the famous beaches in the country is Ha' Atafu Beach which is found in Tongatapu. It is home to Tonga's best surfing location that features safe all-tides surfing, so you can enjoy it even if you are a beginner. There are several beachside accommodations and restaurants. The unspoiled Ha'Atafu Beach is a paradise that every tourist in Tonga should visit. It has a vast where you can lounge and enjoy traditional Tongan cuisines.

You can swim with different tropical fish and admire the colorful corals around you. Between July and October, you can spot mesmerizing and colossal humpback whales on the beach. This is a once-in-a-lifetime experience that you should not miss when you visit Tonga. If you want to experience calm waters and a temperate climate, visit between May and October.

Driving Directions:

  • From Tonga Airports Limited, head southeast toward Taufa'ahau Rd
  • Turn right onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Take a right turn after 1.5 kilometers.
  • Swerve to the right onto Loto Rd.
  • Turn right after 2.4 kilometers.
  • Take a left turn onto Hihifo Rd.
  • Turn left after 400 meters.
  • Swerve to the left after 100 meters, and you can reach Ha'atafu Beach approximately after 33 minutes.

Getting your International Driver's Permit in Tonga online is a simple process. You can have your international driver's license for Tonga on our website immediately. After successful application, please provide all the requirements for us to process your international driver's license for Tonga. You can now drive without worries in any region in Tonga with your International Driver's Permit. Book your schedule and get your international driver's license in Tonga.

'Anahulu Cave

If you want to explore a dark world and slightly eerie place, you can visit 'Anahulu Cave. It is the most popular cave in the country. Locals and tourists love 'Anahulu Cave. The fear of uncertainty will change to awe as you shine a light on the cave's mesmerizing natural limestones and stalactite caverns. It is advised that when you visit the place, you come with a local guide or join a scuba dive tour so that you can fully explore it.

The beautiful underground freshwater pool in the cave is what lures tourists to come back again to 'Anahulu Cave. It is truly a unique experience to dive deep into the inky void of the cave. You can book or join a scuba diving team. Venture to the deeper parts of the cave and discover what lies ahead of you. You can also bring your mask and flippers if you simply want to snorkel in the underground pool.

Driving Directions:

  • From Aeroport International Fua'amotu, head southeast
  • Continue straight for 1 kilometer.
  • Turn left after 1.9 kilometers.
  • Take a right turn onto Tuku'Aho Rd.
  • Turn a sharp left onto Liku Rd, and you can reach Anahulu Cave within 14 minutes.

Your international driver's license in Tonga has a validity of up to three years. On our website, you can check the requirements to get an international driver's license in Tonga. We have made it easy to get your international driver's license in Tonga online. After 20 minutes of processing, pay the prescribed fee and get your international driver's license in Tonga. We can also deliver your International Driver's Permit for Tonga in any zone. Provide your name, address, city/state, country, zip code, and contact number to get your international driver's license for Tonga.

Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon

Tonga has its own South Pacific version of Stonehenge. The Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon or Maui's Burden is nestled close to Niutoua. As you reach the place, you will notice the three colossal coralline stones that weigh 40 tons each. It resembles a trilithon gate. Some Archaeologists and folklore say that it was built for Tu'i Tonga, while others say old Chinese travelers built it. It is advised you book in advance and join guided tours.

Driving Directions:

  • From Aeroport International Fua'amotu, head southeast
  • Continue straight for 1 kilometer.
  • Turn left after 5.3 kilometers.
  • Swerve to the right onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Take a slight right turn after 7.2 kilometers.
  • Turn right onto Taufa'ahau Rd, and you can reach Ha'amonga 'a Maui Trilithon after 27 minutes.

We can also ship your International Driver's Permit for Tonga in any zone you are in. Supply us with your name, address, city, state, zip code to get your international driver's license for Tonga. You can recognize the benefits of your international driver's license in Tonga. Your international driver's license in Tonga will not serve as an extension of your expired driver's license. The validity of your international driver's license in Tonga is not the same as your driver's license. Get yours now and drive in any area at ease with your international driver's license in Tonga.

Mu'a

The region of Mu'a is where you can discover a wide array of archaeological remains that makes the history of Tonga special. Your local travel guide will bring you to the 28 regal stone graves in Mu'a. These colossal stone graves are made with limestone blocks. You can also find the Stage of Tele'a in the main street. It resembles a pyramid stone monument. It is best to visit Mu'a during the dry season or from March and November.

Driving Directions:

  • From Aeroport International Fua'amotu, head southeast
  • Continue straight for 1 kilometer.
  • Turn left after 5.3 kilometers.
  • Turn right onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Take a right turn after 290 meters, and you can reach Mu'a within 14 minutes.

If you forget to apply for an IDP, the IDA team can offer assistance to get your International Driver's Permit in Tonga easily. Getting your International Driver's Permit in Tonga online is a simple process. You don't have to go to the nearest police station or licensing authority. Just click on 'Start My Application' and be updated with your International Driver's Permit for Tonga. Give your name, address, city/state, country, zip code, and contact number to get your International Driver's Permit from Tonga. Within a few minutes of processing, pay the fee and get your international driver's license in Tonga.

Tongatapu

The epicenter of Tongatapu is Nuku'alofa and on its northern shore is the overlooking view of the Royal Palace. Venture to the lively Talamahu Market and find various tropical vegetables and fruits. You can also discover local masterpieces and crafts, you can bring home as gifts and souvenirs. Wherever you go in Tongatapu, there are beautiful beaches where you can swim or snorkel. Locals advise tourists to go from March to November.

Driving Directions:

  • From Tonga Airports Limited, head southeast toward Taufa'ahau Rd
  • Turn right onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Take a right turn after 1 kilometer.
  • Turn left after 500 meters.
  • Swerve to the right after 1.5 kilometers, and you will reach Tongatapu within 11 minutes.

It is best to bring your international driver's license for Tonga you got online, so you don't face any conflict when you encounter a checkpoint. Get yours now and drive without worries in any area with your international driver's license in Tonga. We can also ship your International Driver's Permit for Tonga in any region. Supply us with your name, address, city/state, country, zip code, and contact number to get your International Driver's Permit from Tonga. Note that an international driver's license in Tonga is not an extension for your expired driver's license.

Pangaimotu Island

You should know that all activities in Tonga halt on Sundays because the government enforces a Sabbath Law. Due to the country's conservative religious beliefs, businesses close on Sundays, and locals should worship, rest, and feast with their families. However, there are still a few places to explore during this day. Pangaimotu and the resort on it are exempted, so you can still have your taste of adventure while everybody is resting.

This city is known for its shipwrecks and beautiful beaches. The beach is also a great spot for swimming and snorkeling because of the colorful and healthy corals. There is also thriving marine biodiversity even on the narrow parts of the beach. Visit Pangaimotu during the dry season so that you can fully explore its beaches.

Driving Directions:

  • From Tonga Airports Limited, head southeast toward Taufa'ahau Rd
  • Turn left onto Taufa'ahau Rd.
  • Turn right onto Alaivahamama'o Bypass Rd
  • Take a left turn to stay on Alaivahamama'o Bypass Rd
  • Swerve to the right at Vuna Rd, and you will reach Pangaimotu Island in 20 minutes.

Without your local driver's license, you are not allowed to drive in Tonga unless you get a Tongan driver's license issued from the Tongan Principal Licensing Authority. However, you need to take a driving test and pay the prescribed fee. Your international driver's license in Tonga you got online will help if you don't speak English. We also give free replacement if ever you lose your IDP. Call us for free assistance to get your International Driver's Permit in Tonga. Provide your name, address, city/state, country, zip code, and contact number to get your international driver's license for Tonga.

Most Important Rules of Driving in Tonga

Generally, Tonga is one of the safest countries to drive in, even if you are a tourist. The roads and road networks in the country are well-maintained. For your security and the well-being of the surrounding people, it is best to be receptive to the foreign country's driving rules and regulations. Ensure that you have an ample understanding of the road rules when driving in Tonga, so you prevent accidents and conflicts with the local authorities. One of the rules you need to remember is you need to drive on the left hand side of the road. It can be quite challenging for drivers who are not used to driving on the left hand side.

Have your local driver's license and IDP all the time

Tourists must purchase a local driver's license from the nearest police station, Tongan Principal Licensing Authority, or Land Transport Division upon arrival. It will be valid for three months. However, for you to have it, you need to take and pass a driving test. Unexpected situations may arise when you are on a road trip. Having an International Driving Permit in Tonga can be your valid proof of identification when local authorities ask for it at checkpoints.

Tourists with a valid driving license issued from their home country and an International Driving Permit in Tonga are allowed to drive for three months. Foreigners need to get a Tongan driving license issued by the Tongan Principal Licensing Authority or Land Transport Division. They may also ask the applicant to take and pass a driving test along with the prescribed fee. Always bring your valid driving license when driving around Tonga because your IDP is not a valid replacement for it.

Drunk-driving is prohibited in Tonga

Based on the Head of Road Safety report in Nuku'alofa, most of the road accidents in 2020 were caused by drunk-driving. Even if there is a decline in the number of road accidents recorded, they are still upholding zero tolerance and strong enforcement of the law to people not following the road rules because there is an increase in the number of road fatalities that year.

Tonga is strict in imposing a 0.08% blood alcohol limit on both local and tourist drivers. Do not drink and drive because if you are under the influence of alcohol. Do not settle your life in danger along with the other people on the road with you. It is best to avoid alcohol and not risk it because drunk-driving only brings trouble. If you're caught drunk driving, you will be brought to the nearest police station to take a breathalyzer test and settle your fines.

Observe the maximum speed limit in Tonga

Tonga has a very conservative speed limit compared to urban states. The speed limit on pedestrian areas and roads around schools is 30 Kph. On main roads, the speed limit is 50 Kph, while in rural areas, it is 70 Kph. If you abide by these speed limits, you will not face any problems with the local authorities, and you will avoid getting into any unfortunate road accidents.

You can observe speed limits signposted in regular intervals along the country's roadsides, so you will have no excuse not to follow them. Some local drivers are also observed to drive very slowly, so you have to be patient and only overtake safely. Drive below the speed limit, especially if you're not used to driving on the left hand side of the road.

Get an International Driver's Permit for $69

+ International Replacement

International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App
Start my Application
  • Yes Checkmark
    100% money back guarantee
  • Yes Checkmark
    Fast International Shipping
  • Yes Checkmark
    Digital Version Delivered in 2 Hours or Less
International Drivers Permit Booklet, Card and Phone App